If you’re reading this, you’ve probably been injured at your workplace or while working outside during duty hours. Workers’ comp can help employees get compensated for medical expenses and lost wages. Since workers’ compensation is a no-fault system, employees can receive benefits regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
But before you file a claim, it is important to verify whether or not your employer offers workers’ comp benefits. Ideally, they should, as the state of Florida requires most businesses to have workers’ compensation coverage. However, for your peace of mind, we explain how to know whether your employer has workers’ comp in this article.
In any case, our professional employment lawyers in Coral Springs from Work Injury Rights will help you get the workers’ compensation benefits you deserve after a workplace accident.
How Do You Find Out Whether Your Employer Has Workers’ Comp?
Under Florida Law, workers’ compensation coverage is mandatory for most businesses with four or more employees. The rules of construction and agriculture are slightly different.
Unless your employer is violating the law, they will probably have workers’ compensation coverage.
For more information, you can check with the insurance provider of the company to know whether or not you’re covered for such damages. You can also check if your employer has workers’ comp coverage through the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation website.
The law also requires companies to post a notice of such workers’ comp insurance within the premises of their office building. You should look for such indications in the break room or other areas where notices are displayed for all. This way, you’ll get to know whether or not your employer has the required insurance coverage.
Also, if the employer fails to provide coverage here, they’ll be in violation of the law.
Another clear indication of your employer’s status would be their actions. The employer must report your injury to the insurance company no later than 7 days after the accident. The insurance company must send you an informational brochure within 3 days of receiving this notice.
If the company does not report your injury, this may indicate that the company does have the necessary coverage. You have a right to report your injury yourself.
In both cases, you should reach out to a lawyer to further pursue your case in the best possible way. If your employer didn’t have the legally required workers’ compensation coverage, you can file a personal injury lawsuit against them. If your employer has coverage, a skilled workers’ comp attorney can help you claim the maximum workers’ compensation benefits based on the severity of your losses.
What to Do After a Workplace Accident?
Now comes the more practical part of this discussion – whether or not your employer is covered for the damages is beyond your control. What you can do to influence your workers’ comp claim is more important.
Moreover, you want to show a sense of urgency in all of this to avoid being ignored or for your claims to be considered exaggerated.
1. Collect Firsthand Evidence of the Incident
The first thing you need to do is to collect firsthand evidence of the said accident, i.e., take photographs, make videos, record witness statements (if needed) alongside their contact information, get copies of surveillance footage, and so on.
2. Seek Immediate Medical Help
Next, you must seek immediate medical help. If you delay seeking help, the insurance company might argue the injuries and losses were in fact not as severe as you claim. You must see a medical practitioner authorized by the insurance company.
The medical provider should go through all the diagnostic tests to ascertain the severity of your condition. This includes everything from surface examination to complicated medical tests, as needed. Get a copy of the doctor’s notes and observations to document your losses accordingly.
3. Keep All Records of Expenses
Also, keep all the records and bills of your expenses, made necessary by the said incident, with you to prove the extent of your financial losses.
4. Notify Your Employer & Consult With A Lawyer
You should notify your employer as soon as possible, preferably in writing, to get started with the rest of the process. Once that is all done and taken care of, get in touch with competent attorneys to get a sense of what to do next.
Your employer should not mind you contacting lawyers for your case as it is your legal right and since you’re only doing so for fair treatment.
Get Help From a Personal Injury Attorney in Coral Springs
Handling workers’ comp cases on your own is not a good idea because this way, you will only get a nominal payout for all your losses, barely enough to cover the damages in the long term. The insurance adjuster representing the company might try to rush the whole process, don’t let this sense of urgency deceive you. You need to get a fair settlement for all your losses, not just the small token sum offered.
Your best bet is to hire a highly experienced personal injury attorney in Coral Springs, Florida from the Work Injury Rights. Not only do we offer dedicated attention to all of our clients but will also keep you in the loop of it all. We have extensive experience in getting our clients compensated for both the short- and long-term, and we understand the intricacies of such cases in full, allowing us to create a solid position for our clients throughout.
You can reach out to us for a free initial consultation by calling 954-324-COMP or using our contact form!