Sustaining a minor or severe injury while you are working might seem unfortunate, yet these situations occur a lot more frequently than many people may think. When you are harmed on the company’s property in Spring Hill, Florida, or while you are engaged in business for the company, you might be entitled to compensation through workers compensation policies that your employer holds. However, these payments will not be automatic, which is why you should be aware of what is involved in the Spring Hill, Florida reporting a work injury process.
If you have any questions or concerns associated with reporting a work-related injury, call our office at [Phone]. The highly skilled workers compensation attorneys at Work Injury Rights are here to give you advice on the benefits made available to workers that are injured on the job after submitting a claim successfully. Your initial consultation is free and we don’t charge any fees until we have secured the benefits you rightly deserve.
How Long Do I Have To Report A Workplace Injury In Florida?
The law in Florida requires workers injured on the job to report their accidents to their employers within 30 days or 90 days for occupational exposure cases. If you have failed to report your accident in this set time frame, your employer could deny your claim which is directly due to “late notice”.
To file a claim in order to pursue damages, you will have only two years from when your accident occurred. If you did not report the injury in the first 30 days you may lose your rights to recover any damages, even when you are in the two-year timeframe.
Who Do I Have To Report A Workplace Injury To?
If you are injured in a work-related accident you will need to report your accident directly to your employer. According to the Division of Workers Compensation in Florida, you will only have 30 days from when the accident occurred to report your workplace injury.
In certain cases, a worker might not realize immediately that they have sustained harm. In these cases, it is very important to talk to your employer or supervisor when you become aware of the injuries, even when a few days or weeks have already passed. You should not wait any longer than 30 days to file your report.
Employer Responsibilities After A Workplace Injury
When a worker sustains injuries at his or her place of work, the Florida Division of Workers Compensation has stated that the company is required to investigate the incident as soon as possible. Any relevant facts surrounding what occurred need to be collected and then given to the insurance provider upon request.
The law in the state of Florida requires employers to alert the insurance provider about a workers injury within 7 days of the employee’s notification (regardless of how minor). This involves filing a First Report of Injury with the Florida Division of Workers Compensation and the insurance provider.
Even though your employer will report the accident and that it occurred, this doesn’t always mean that it is admission to the facts reported. It is merely a statement that an employee has made a claim. If your company questions whether your injury is work-related, this needs to be included in the First Report of Injury form.
Filing the form in a timely manner is essential since the insurance provider of the company can’t cover any of your bills or pay out benefits if they are not aware of your injuries.
Employee Responsibility After A Workplace Injury
To ensure that you are able to secure workers compensation benefits after you have been injured, here are a few important steps to follow:
- Seek medical or emergency treatment directly after your injury when necessary.
- Immediately report the injuries to your supervisor or boss or as shortly after as possible. The law in Florida requires workers to report injuries to their employers within 30 days of the accident happening.
- Ensure that the physician that you visit has been specified by either your company or employer. This will make sure that any treatments you require are going to be covered.
What Should You Do If Your Employer Refuses To Report Your Accident?
Employers in the state of Florida are required to report an employee’s accident within 7 days, yet not all companies follow this law. If your employer fails to cooperate or they are mismanaging the claim, you are allowed to directly report your work-related accident to the insurance provider. Alternatively, you can also contact the Division of Workers Compensation in Florida.
If you don’t have the contact details of the insurance company, you should contact a skilled workers compensation lawyer at Work Injury Rights to assist you with identifying the name and contact information of the insurance provider. Unfortunately, dealing with insurance adjusters is just as bad as having to deal with an unhelpful or uncooperative employer. But when you decide to work with a seasoned and professional workers compensation lawyer it can make a real difference when it comes to the success of the case.
Call Us Today When Reporting A Work Injury In The State Of Florida
After sustaining injuries while working for a company in Florida, it is often very helpful to contact a lawyer that works with workers compensation claims well before you decide to file your claim. Your initial valuation of the case is for free and it will provide you with a better understanding of the processes involved with these claims as well as what type of benefits you might be entitled to now and in the future.
When it comes to Spring Hill, Florida reporting a work injury, it is always advisable to first consult with an attorney to ensure you are following the correct procedures and to maximize the likelihood of securing the benefits or payouts that you rightly deserve. Call Work Injury Rights today at [Phone] to book a consultation with one of our highly experienced workers compensation lawyers.