Florida employers are required to carry workers compensation insurance to cover the medical expenses of employees injured on the job. This compensation is designed to insulate workers from the consequences of an injury, but many of them don’t have a full understanding of what’s covered and how to make a claim, hence the need for the following St. Petersburg, Florida reporting a work injury guide.
If you or someone you know was recently hurt in a workplace or job-related injury, you should consider hiring a reputable lawyer to help you recover the benefits you deserve. The legal team at Work Injury Rights can help you pursue legal action against your employer. Call us today at [Phone] to schedule your free consultation.
How Long Do I Have in Reporting a Workplace Injury in Florida?
The workers compensation laws in Florida require injured workers to report injuries at their job to their employers within 30 days of the injury. If you have an illness that has been diagnosed as caused by certain conditions on your job, you should report it to your employer within 30 days of diagnosis.
If you fail to report your workplace injury within this time period, your claim will likely be denied. Even though the law in Florida gives you up to 30 days to report the injury to your employer, it’s in your best interest to inform your employer within the shortest time possible.
Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury To?
If you are hurt at your job in Florida, you are required to report the injury to your supervisor or manager (your employer) as soon as possible. It’s generally advisable to make the report to your employer in writing even after giving it verbally.
You should consider sending an email documenting that you reported the injury to your supervisor or manager if you weren’t allowed to fill out a notice of injury or other form of the incident report. Note down the name of the supervisor or manager that received the injury report as well as the day that you reported the injury for your own records.
Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury
Employers in Florida have certain responsibilities after a workplace injury. The responsibilities are intended to ensure that the injured employee receives proper treatment and compensation, and that measures are taken to ensure that similar accidents don’t happen in the future.
Here are some key employer responsibilities following an on the job injury:
- Providing Medical Treatment: If an employee is injured on the job, the employer is required to provide the necessary medical attention promptly, which includes providing first aid or arranging for transportation to a medical facility if first aid isn’t enough.
- Investigating the Accident: Employers are also required to investigate the accident that caused the employee’s injury to determine its precise cause and hopefully take several measures to ensure that similar accidents don’t happen in the future.
- Reporting the accident: Employers are required to report workplace injuries to their workers compensation insurance provider within 7 days of notification, no matter how minor the injuries might appear to be. Furthermore, whenever there’s an incident at work that results in hospitalization or even death, employers are required to report them to OSHA.
- Cooperating with the Insurer: Employees are also required to cooperate with the workers compensation insurance provider, as well as their lawyer to investigate the matter, such as providing access to the employee’s documentation and co-workers.
- Non-Retaliation: Employees are also responsible for welcoming the injured employee back to the workplace after they’re physically ready to go back to the job. Employers cannot terminate or penalize employers who file employee compensation claims. If they do, they can face serious punishments under the law.
Employee Responsibility After a Workplace Injury
Employees also have a number of responsibilities after an on the job injury and if they fail to fulfill their duties, they are likely to lose their right to recover damages. Here are some key employee responsibilities following an on the job injury:
- Reporting the Injury: All employees in Florida who are injured on the job are required to report the injury to their employers within 30 days of a injury. If you are unable to report the injury to your employer because you were receiving medical care, be sure to do so within the shortest time possible.
- Seeking Medical Attention: No matter how minor the injury might appear to be, it’s always advisable to seek medical attention to determine the extent of injuries. Tell the doctor exactly how the accident occurred. The doctor will then document your injuries and provide guidance regarding the recovery process and going back to your job.
- Follow Medical Guidance: Your doctor’s diagnosis and recommendations will play an important role when it comes to settling your workplace injury. So, if your doctor provides specific injury-related restrictions, be sure to follow that advice precisely. You should also keep all scheduled appointments and stay in regular contact with your injury doctors.
- Completing a Workplace Injury Report: The level of detail in your injury documentation will play an important role in supporting your compensation claim. Florida requires all employers to keep meticulous records for review via OSHA. So, even if your employer claims that it isn’t necessary, it is always important to fill out an injury report providing as many details as possible to explain the events leading up to the injury.
- Cooperating with Your Employer: You are also required to cooperate with your employer, their legal team, and their employee compensation insurance provider, when it comes to investigating the accident and providing any information requested, which may include attending meetings related to the accident or even producing a written statement.
Call Us Today When Reporting a Work Injury in Florida
At Work Injury Rights in St. Petersburg, Florida, we are dedicated to helping you recover the benefits you are entitled to following a workplace or work-related injury or illness. We understand the law and the procedures that have to be followed to get the benefits you deserve.
Now that you know the procedure in St. Petersburg, Florida reporting an on job injury, it’s vital that you call us at [Phone] as soon as you suffer a injury, so that we can get started with the process of recovering the benefits you deserve!