Workplace accidents happen every day in Tampa, Florida. Many employees are often confused about what they should do after such accidents. What you do after a workplace accident may make or break your Tampa workers’ compensation case.
If you’ve been injured while on the job, you should act fast to maximize your chances of receiving compensation benefits. Reporting a work injury in Tampa is an easy process that you should do after a workplace accident. An experienced workers’ compensation lawyer in Tampa can help you if you are stuck.
You should always report your work injury regardless of how minor it is. Failing to report your work injury may severely jeopardize your workers’ comp claim. Call 954-833-5226 now to speak to one of the attorneys at Work Injury Rights regarding your claim. Our legal team will guide you on how to report your work injury in Tampa, FL.
Table of Contents
How Long Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury in Tampa, Florida?
Reporting a work injury in Tampa is an important step after a workplace accident. Never let anyone talk you out of this step. Don’t listen to coworkers who reassure you that you aren’t hurt and that your injury isn’t worth reporting.
You may sustain severe internal injuries that aren’t immediately apparent. It’s not advisable to ignore reporting your workplace injury in Florida.
If you’ve been hurt while on the job, you need to take certain steps you can follow to maximize your chances of receiving compensation. Remember, you have 30 days to report your work injury in Florida. If you don’t report your accident within 30 days, your employer and their insurance carrier may dispute your claim.
Florida has a statute of limitations for filing workers’ compensation claims. You have two years from the date of your workplace accident to file your claim. If your employer’s insurance carrier stopped paying your compensation benefits after a certain period, you have one year from the date of your last payment to file your claim.
To Whom Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury?
After a work injury, there are certain parties that you should reach out to. Telling your coworkers about your injury won’t help your claim. They have no authority when it comes to workers’ compensation claims.
You should reach out to your employer or your supervisor after a work injury. Always report any workplace accidents to these parties as soon as possible. Alternatively, you can also report your workplace accident to the HR department.
Reporting a work injury in Tampa should be done orally and in writing. You may inform the above parties about the details of the accident, such as how and where it happened. Don’t forget to mention any symptoms or discomfort that you may be experiencing.
What Are the Employer’s Responsibilities After A Workplace Injury?
After a workplace injury, there are certain responsibilities that an employer should observe. Your employer is required to report a workplace accident as soon as it happens, or within 7 days to their insurance carrier. This is done using the First Report of Injury.
An employer should also notify the insurance company about work injuries within 7 days of discovery. They should at all times be in contact with the injured worker and the insurance adjuster.
Employers are required to keep records of workplace injuries and accidents. Your employer must retain these records for at least two and a half years before discarding them.
If the authorized treating doctor clears you to return to work, your employer should make this process as seamless as possible for you. Your employer should get all information about work-related restrictions from your doctor. They should meet with you to discuss whether there are some job duties you can perform.
Your employer should hold a discussion with you in the event restricted work is available. This may include the start date of the modified version of your job and the compensation for the new duties. Your employer should notify the insurance adjuster about your restricted job duties.
What Are the Employee’s Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury?
If you’ve been hurt while on the job, you should notify your employer immediately. Reporting a work injury in Tampa should be done within 30 days after sustaining your injury. This can also be done within 30 days after you discover your work-related injury or within 30 days after a doctor determines you suffered a work injury.
When reporting your work injury, you should ask your employer about all authorized doctors. Your employer may refer you to the insurance carrier for further details regarding approved physicians.
In the event your work injury is an emergency, you can visit the nearest emergency room if your employer is unavailable. Make sure you notify your employer as soon as possible about your injury and this development.
When you visit a doctor after your work injury, it’s imperative to inform your doctor about what happened. Answer any questions your doctor has regarding your injury. If you have any medical conditions, make sure you inform the doctor.
Remember to attend all hospital appointments and follow your doctor’s orders. Failure to do so may hurt your Tampa workers’ compensation claim.
Once you are cleared to leave the hospital, notify your employer. Notify them about the doctor’s restrictions regarding your work. Inquire about when you should return to work and when appropriate work will be available for you.
Remember to stay in touch with your employer and their insurance provider while undergoing treatment and recovery for your workplace accident.
Call Us Today for a Free Consultation When Reporting a Work Injury in Tampa
Accidents in the workplace may be caused by sheer bad luck or the negligent actions of other parties. At times, they may be caused by acts of God. If you’ve been hurt while on the job, you should report your accident as soon as possible.
Delays in reporting your accident are ill-advised. Your employer and the insurance carrier may dispute your claim if you miss your deadline. At Work Injury Rights, our workers’ compensation lawyers in Tampa are ready to help you with your workers’ comp claim.
Contact Work Injury Rights today to find out if you can file your workers’ compensation claim. Our lawyers will advise you regarding the statute of limitations in Florida. Book your free case review today to get started.