Every state has different laws and procedures that workers must adhere to when reporting a work injury. In Clearwater, Florida, reporting a work injury is a legal obligation that all employees have when they get injured at work. Work injury Rights attorneys are experts in handling work-related accidents on behalf of injured workers.
Our Clearwater workers’ comp attorneys understand that all cases are different and will review your case before determining the best legal approach. We know that some employers and insurers make it difficult for victims to recover benefits, and we are prepared to help you obtain the settlement you deserve.
If you need help reporting your work injury, our attorneys can help. Call us at 954-833-5226 to schedule a consultation, and we will review your case for free.
How Long Do I Have to Report a Work Injury in Florida?
Have you been hurt in a work accident? You cannot wait to report an on-the-job injury in Florida. You risk not receiving workers’ comp benefits when you do not report your work accident on time.
You can only be eligible to receive workers’ comp benefits after reporting your accident to your employer on time. Here are the most important dates and deadlines for your workers’ comp claim in Florida.
First Deadline: Report the Accident Within 30 days
Under Florida’s workers’ compensation laws, employers and employees have legal obligations. An injured employee’s most crucial duty is reporting their accident on time. You must report your work-related injury as soon as possible but within 30 days of the accident or discovery of the injury.
You can notify your employer about the accident in oral or written form. You risk having your workers’ comp denied when you fail to report your accident within the deadline.
Statutes of Limitations for Workers’ Comp Claim in Florida
Notifying your employer about your work accident and injuries differs from filing for your workers’ comp benefits. Besides letting your employer know about your workplace accident, you still must file for workers’ compensation. Florida workers’ comp law has a two-year statute of limitation for claims. The quicker you begin your claims process, the faster you can access the available benefits.
Florida Workers’ Comp Appeal Deadline
Recovering your workers’ comp benefits is not always straightforward since insurance can deny your claim. In Florida, you have the right to file an appeal if your workers’ comp benefits are denied. You have 30 days from the date of the claim denial to file for an appeal.
Your appeal must be filed and not mailed. If you are experiencing difficulty in recovering your medical benefits or your claim is denied, talk to our experienced attorneys.
Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury to?
You are legally obligated to report your work injuries to your employer. This can be your manager or supervisor.
Employer’s Responsibility After a Workplace Injury
If you are injured while performing your scope of work, the responsibilities of your employer include the following.
Your employer must report your injuries to their workers’ comp insurance company within seven days of their knowledge of your injury. Contact the Employee Assistance and Ombudsman office for help if your employer does not report your injury.
Your employer must provide you with all the necessary remedial medical treatment, attendance, and care for as long as the nature of your injury or recovery process requires.
You can sue your employer to provide you with workers’ comp benefits if they failed to purchase workers’ comp insurance despite being required to do so by law.
Employee Responsibility After a Work Injury
Injured employees must report their work accidents to their employer, and while they can do this verbally, it is best to write this report. If you get into a work accident, your responsibilities are to:
- Tell your employer about the injury within 30 days of the manifestation of your injury or the time the accident happened. Please do so to ensure your ability to claim benefits.
- Except for emergency treatment, you must specifically request initial care or treatment and give your employer or insurer a reasonable period to provide the initial care or treatment.
- You must sign and return the “fraud statement” provided by the insurer.
- Obtain a first notice of injury from your employer or get a copy of your accident report.
- Discuss with your physician if your condition is work-related.
Call Us Today When Reporting a Workplace Injury in Clearwater, Florida
Work injury Rights attorneys have over forty-five years of combined experience successfully handling workplace accident cases in Florida. If you have been in a work accident in Florida, Work injury Rights attorneys can take you through reporting a work injury.
Our seasoned attorneys have successfully represented different workplace accident victims and won millions of dollars worth of workers’ comp settlements. Let us review your case for free, determine if you have a workplace accident case, assist with documenting and reporting your injuries, and more importantly, review your available legal options.
Work Injury Rights Can Help You Take Action After a Work Injury
If a loved one or you have recently been injured in an accident at work, our Work Injury Rights attorneys are ready to put our experience to the test in helping you take action. We understand that navigating your injury may be challenging, and we are prepared to help you take the necessary action to get the outcome you deserve.
- Our dedicated and experienced legal team is ready to help you obtain the outcome you deserve.
- Our compassionate attorneys want to listen to your story and develop a sturdy legal strategy with your best interests in mind.
- Our work-related injury attorneys are ready to answer your calls and provide you with the answers you are seeking.
- We have expert negotiation skills to ensure you recover a fair settlement offer for your injuries.
- Our responsive and available lawyers are prepared to follow up with you in a timely way.
- Our legal team will dedicate and pool all of its available resources into your work accident case.
When you are injured at work, the road ahead may be full of pain, confusion, and financial loss. In Clearwater, Florida, reporting a work injury is mandatory.
Contact Work Injury Rights at 954-833-5226 for a free consultation. Let us dedicate our knowledge, skills, resources, and experience to your work injury case in Clearwater, Florida.